1 Restaurant at a Time

Have you ever eaten somewhere that was so delicious that you just wanted to shout it to the world? No? You didn’t even tell your friends about it? I know you did… So, I’m glad we’ve come to a mutual understanding then. It will make this post less awkward for me to talk entirely about food.IMG_0554

Well, I know that you’ve probably had some good food in your time, but let me gush about this lovely restaurant on The Hill in St. Louis.

If you don’t know much about The Hill, it’s basically the Italian part of St. Louis. There are restaurants, bars, grocery stores, churches and everything is pretty much centered around the Italian heritage.

Although I’ve never been to Italy, Italian blood courses through my veins. What can I say? When I’m on The Hill, it’s like I’m home.

Guido’s Pizzeria and Tapas is a cute little corner restaurant located almost at the entrance of The Hill. I had never eaten there before tonight, and neither had my friend, Erica. Luckily, since it was Restaurant Week on The Hill, Guido’s was offering 3 course meals for $25. Who can pass up a deal like that?IMG_0545

The overall ambiance of the restaurant was rustic and laid back; yet there was also a sense of class. The tables were made of a dark heavy wood and although the dining room was full by the end of our dinner, it never felt crowded.

For my antipasti (that’s the “before the meal” or appetizer for all of you uncultured swine) (don’t take offense, it’s a Toy Story reference) I ordered the Cangrejo Fritas. It was soft shell crab on a bed of lettuce with a garlic aioli sauce.

IMG_0551Now, as someone who grew up on the East Coast, I’m very picky about my seafood. With that being said, I’m also not a paid food critic, so take my opinion with a grain of salt (no pun intended as we discuss food). This dish was delicious. I took a bite with lettuce, without lettuce, with garlic aoili, without garlic aoili and there was no bad way to eat this dish. Every bite was truly divine. (Dear God, have I ever actually thanked you for seafood?)

After my first course, I was hesitant for the rest of my meal. What could measure up to soft shell crab? (The answer is not much because I only took a picture of my first course. No worries. I don’t play favorites or anything) However, I was pleasantly surprised that the rest of my meal was just as delicious as my first course. My second dish was Guido’s Signature Salad. Basically, it was an Olive Garden salad on steroids and so much better. My third course was a 7 oz salmon on top of rice and veggies with a wine lemon butter sauce. Like, I said before, I grew up with seafood, so I know an overdone salmon filet when I eat one. This salmon was perfect, as were the rice and veggies. The salmon was firm, yet tender and the rice was a perfect mix with the crisp veIMG_0556ggies.

Erica and I were able to finish the night with some gelato and a walk around the neighborhood. It was a gorgeous night and it was so much fun to spend time with one of my best friends. Every time Erica and I get together we always plan our next adventure, and somehow it always involves food. Restaurant week on The Hill was a complete success and I can’t wait to keep experiencing St. Louis, one restaurant at a time.

Leave a Reply

