Bolted

One Word Prompt – Vision

I opened my eyes and looked at the sky above me. I could still feel the electrical current pulsing through my body. My head was aching and my body felt like it had been hit by a truck. I slowly sat up, trying to avoid any feeling of vertigo. I turned my head towards the tree that provided me shelter just moments prior. There was a dark smoke coming from the trunk and a small thin hole that glowed red right in the middle.

I looked at my hands to see my finger tips as dark as the smoke coming from the tree. The shock was much stronger than I could have imagined. How long did I lay on the ground unconscious? I stood up and ran toward my house. The rain had finally slowed to a light, refreshing drizzle, but I didn’t want to be outside any longer. Not after what I just experienced.

I ran in past my husband to the bathroom. Travis ran after me, yelling my name the entire way. I probably looked crazy, but I didn’t care. I stood in the bathroom and looked at my reflection. My brown hair looked wet and unkempt, and I had a red lighting strike pattern across my face. Maybe at one time, I might have been considered beautiful. I didn’t really care though. I was alive. I reached forward and touched my reflection as I saw a tear roll down my cheek. I was always told that beauty was in the eye of the beholder, which was ironic considering I didn’t have any sort of vision until about 5 minutes ago.

 

Leave a Reply

