More than a Puzzle Piece

Daily Prompt – Underestimate

I may not be able to run as fast as the boys in my 6th grade class
But my imagination can take me places they have never seen
Why do they underestimate me?

I may not be able to sing on key or stay on rhythm with the beat
But the music makes me feel things they will never understand
Why do they underestimate me?

I may not understand every joke when it’s shared
But my smile and laughter can fill a room with joy
Why do they underestimate me?

I may not be able to control my emotions when I become overwhelmed
But when I say phrases like, “I love you”
You know that love has overwhelmed me in the absolute best way
Why do they underestimate me?

I may not think the same
I may not act the same
I may not be the same as the other boys and girls my age
But would you really want me any other way?
Why do you underestimate me?Autism_Awareness_Ribbon
**dedicated to a young boy who charms the world with his kind, vivacious spirit**

One thought on “More than a Puzzle Piece

Leave a Reply

