Dreams

Daily Prompt – Dream

The Earth is shattering around me. The walls are collapsing and the ground is trembling uncontrollably. I hear my children screaming for help, but I can’t get to them. Somehow, my body feels like cement as I sit terrified in the corner of my bedroom. My husband reaches his hand out towards me, to help pull me from the wreckage, but I just sit and stare, unable to do anything. I look toward my husband and watch as the ceiling falls from above him. His hand is no longer reaching toward me. I can no longer hear the screams of my children.

I look ahead to the next curve in the road. I apply my foot to the brake, but my car doesn’t slow. As I go downhill, the speed picks up. I turn the wheel to follow the curve of the road, but I look up to see another driver in my lane, heading right toward me. I swerve to avoid a collision, but I end up going off road. I see the water getting closer and closer as my vehicle quickly glides over the terrain. I hit the water with a thud and the force is so strong, my head hits the steering wheel. I’m barely conscious and I can’t find the strength within me to keep on. Water begins leaking in through the sunroof and windows. I reach toward my seat belt, but the impact from the water has jammed it. I tug, but it won’t come loose. The water is now up to my neck. I wiggle to try and scoot out, but it’s no good. The water keeps climbing. I can’t breathe.

It’s dark and cold. I can’t see what’s in front of me, but I’m running. What’s chasing me? I hear a sinister laugh and see a dark figure following me down the corridor. I turn and run faster than I had before. My lungs are burning and my side is aching, but I can’t stop running. How did I end up here? Why can’t I escape this? The corridor turns into a dead end. I turn around to face the figure behind me. Regardless of how fast I run, he is always right there, just inches from me. I look around for an escape, but I see nothing. I can’t make out any details of the figure except for his mouth. He smiles at me, but the smile isn’t warm and welcoming. He has razor sharp teeth, and somehow in the darkness, I can see they are black and rotted. What’s going to happen to me?

Jeremy sat in the hospital room. It was cold and uninviting. He looked out the window at the glorious Sunday afternoon. He wanted so desperately to be enjoying the weather with his family. Normally, on a day like today, he would be barbecuing in the backyard with his wife as his kids played with water guns around the yard. He felt tears well up in his eyes as he looked towards his wife who lay on the hospital bed. The tubes were breathing for her and he was pretty sure they were keeping her heart beating. Her brain was still active though – numerous tests had proved that. He had not lost any hope that she would come back. It had only been a few weeks, but he prayed every day that God would wake her up. He leaned down and kissed his wife’s forehead. “I just hope you’re having good dreams.”

Leave a Reply

